Wine Tavern and Direct Sales / Vineyard Franz Anton Mayer

In our approach to the design of Weinblick we focused on the themes of wine-tasting and lingering. The formerly simple and classic architecture of the building on the side of the garden was radically changed, so that a landscape of seating steps now offers the perfect place to look out into the vineyards while relaxing and tasting wine. This architectural detail has thus provided the name for the project: “Weinblick”, wine-view.

The step form outside is continued inside the building, winding as a staircase or in the form of shelves into the cellar. Arriving in the cellar, visitors find themselves on an illuminated presentation bridge. The loess clay typical for this region was left in its unfinished state – the cellar offers an insight into the ground soil and the deeply rooted grapevines.


For the presentation of the wines we created surroundings that are elegant without being aloof. We wanted to highlight the production character of a vineyard and we focused here too on earthy materials: metal, cement, and cluster pine conjoin the new architecture with parts of the old remainders of the building. In this way, we achieved an optimum use of the only 70- square-meter small room. Honored with the AIT – AWARD 2016, 2end prize in the retail category.

Heuriger und Ab-Hof-Verkauf / Weingut Franz Anton Mayer

Für die Gestaltung des Weinblick stellten wir die Themen Weinverkostung und Verweilen in den Mittelpunkt unserer Herangehensweise. Die ehemals schlichte und klassische Architektur des Gebäudes hin zur Gartenseite wurde radikal verändert, eine Sitzstufenlandschaft bietet nun einen perfekten Ort um in die Weinberge zu schauen, dort zu verweilen und Wein zu verkosten. Dieses Detail der Architektur ist so zum Namensgeber für das Projekt geworden: Weinblick.

Die Stufenform Außen wird im Inneren des Gebäudes fortgesetzt und schlingt sich als Treppe oder in Form von Regalen bis in den Keller. Unten angekommen, steht man auf einem beleuchteten Präsentationssteg. Der für die Region typische Lößlehm wurde in seinem rohen Zustand belassen – der Keller gewährt Einblick in das Erdreich und die tief verwurzelten Weinreben.

Für die Präsentation der Weine schafften wir eine edle Umgebung, ohne abgehoben zu sein. Wir wollten den Produktionscharakter eines Weingutes unterstreichen und haben auch hier auf erdige Materialien gesetzt: Metall, Beton und Seekiefer vereinen die neue Architektur mit teils alten Restbeständen des Gebäudes. Damit ist uns eine optimale Nutzung des nur 70qm2 kleinen Raumes bestens gelungen. Ausgezeichnet mit dem AIT – AWARD 2016, 2. Preis in der Kategorie
Retail/Messe.